Tuesday, August 27, 2013

seriously, and for real.

I'm shooting for the highest number of "yes, i'm really deciding to run again" posts that the blog-o-sphere has ever seen.

BUT.  I think I really mean it this time.  My friend Kiersten laid down the gauntlet last Saturday.  And by "laid down the gauntlet," I mean she said: "You should run the City of Oaks 1/2."  She's so mean and task-mastery.

So, I checked out dear old Hal Higdon and I'm about 2 weeks late in starting my training for this November 3rd Half Marathon.  I'm not going to let that stop me - I've been running a little here and there, just not quite the "long distances" that I need to have done to be on track.  

I've realized that, unlike my "real" runner friends, I have to have a training goal in order to actually train. I can't say that I do it "for the love of the game." Which is not to say that I don't ENJOY running - I do!  But, I don't enjoy getting ready to go run, if you know what I mean. When I'm out there, I love it - I feel great!  But, it's hard to make myself really "look forward to it."  I do, however, look forward to buying cute outfits for running.  Which I did today, thanks to a bday gift card from Arjay.  Whoo hoo!

So, stats: Today, I had a nice, slow 3-miler with Matilda.  We both felt good through the whole thing.  So, that's something! I'm looking for a good hydration pack for her to carry when we get to those longer runs - so she can carry her own water.  Does anyone who has a doggie training partner have any suggestions? 

This weekend will be the real test: 6-miles on Saturday.  I'm probably being over-zealous, but I'll give it a shot.  Alternately, I could change out the "taper weeks" where you step down in mileage, and opt for a steady "uphill" to the half - allowing myself to do only 4 miles on Saturday.  If anyone has any suggestions, I'm open to them!

Oh - in other news, I'm staring a new job on the 9th, so I figure it's a good time to get some new scheduling going - i.e. running in the morning.  Then, that will just be "how it is."

More to come!  

   

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Back at it! (again.)

It's been awhile!  I took a lot of time off from the running game, while I dealt with some plantar fasciitis and tendonitis onaccounta running that marathon.  

But, a few therapy sessions, and 2 pair of really good shoes later...I'm back in the game!  

I've decided to get back with the Heart Rate training, since I've lost a little of that in the last couple of months.  So, we are back to really, REALLY slow, easy runs - keeping the Heart Rate below 160.  I'm running Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Saturday, and cycling on Sunday.  Arjay and I are also trying to work some yoga into the mix.  My plan for that is Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  We'll see!  It means waking up a titch earlier...and that is HARD for me.  So, this will be the plan until October.  So, I won't be doing the Nov. 3rd marathon I'd hoped for - BUT - I think I'll give the Tobacco Trail another go!

 I'm hoping to write more here, and my other blogs, all of which you can access at www.thisspecialsnowflake.com.  It hasn't been updated in quite awhile, but I'm getting back to it!



Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Ahhhh....

Changing your life begins with a turning toward making a change.  Today, I went running for the first time in a while, so that was a good "turning toward", also have some other "turning towards" beginning to rear their heads.

Looking forward to lots of things.  That feels good!

I'll probably be exploring lots of things other than exercise in the coming weeks.  I have a little website, if you care to check out some of the other stuff in my head.  Nothing really updated yet, but there will be soon!

here is the link: www.thisspecialsnowflake.com

Peace!

c.

Monday, March 18, 2013

I did it! I did it!!

Swag!!!
Wow.  That's really the best way to sum up the Marathon.  But, considering this is a blog, and blogs are, generally, written by folks who like to say more than one word about things...I guess I will expound on that thought.

I'll give the play-by-play, as much as I can remember - leaving out the boring stuff.

First, I have to say that I have the most amazing coach/ support staff in Mr. Arjay Hinek - I absolutely could not have done it without his love, encouragement, and support.  (Does this sound like an Oscar speech?  Good.)

I was so worried last week that I wouldn't even make it to the starting line, and that if I did, I wouldn't be able to finish.  I woke up Monday morning with a sore throat that progressed into a whole head/bronchial tube extravaganza.  I carted myself to Urgent Care on Saturday morning, and left with a prescription for nasonex, and an albuterol inhaler, and instructions to continue with the Mucinex D.  The doctor said things were ok for running, i.e., my lungs sounded good, and there didn't appear to be any viral or bacterial infection - just allergies.  So, yay!  We went to my grand-nephew's 1st birthday party after that, and had a grand old time, and then headed home to begin the final preparations, making sure I could be in bed by 9, with nothing left to think about in the morning, except getting up, getting dressed, eating, and getting in the car by 5:15.

I had a pretty fitful sleep, waking up a few times in coughing fits, but when I was sleeping, I think it was good sleep.  Arjay said I got to some pretty good snoring, so I guess I did sleep afterall!

putting on my kicks
everyone waiting to do "final preparations"
Sunday morning went as seamlessly as I could have hoped!  We got out of bed at 4:30, ate the pancakes we'd made the night before, got dressed, heated up a bowl of oatmeal, got the food bag we'd packed the night before, and hit the road!  We got to the venue right at 6:00am, leaving plenty of time for two trips to the porta-johns, and some good stretching.

in the staring chute
With so many other folks running the marathon, and the 1/2 marathon starting at the same time...I decided to plant myself in the back of the starting chute, so as not to get trampled by the really fast people.  I actually crossed the start line about 4 minutes after the gun went off.

I had run the first part of the course a few weeks earlier, so kinda knew what to expect.  It seemed much easier though!  I had done my long training runs walking for 1 minute of every mile, after the 1st.  I felt so good at mile one, though...and my heart rate was still pretty low, so I decided to go on another mile before walking, so took my first break at mile 2...but only for 30 seconds, instead of the minute - I just felt really, really good...and my heart rate was good, so I figured I'd just use that as my guide.

3 miles in and feeling good!
Arjay met me at about 3 miles, it was good to see his face!  He gave me a hearty cheer, and an "i love you" to help get me through the next 10 miles, until I'd see him again.  There were lots of nice spectators along the way, including a goat and a horse at mile 4-ish (it's an out and back, so I saw them again later.).  I can't say enough about how awesome all the water-stop volunteers were!  I think my favorite water station was the one "womanned" by the Black Girls Run group.  Those ladies had so much energy, big smiles, and wonderful encouraging words!!

I was drinking so much fluid, that I started hearing nature's call around mile 6.  Luckily, there were porta-johns at pretty much every water stop, so I didn't even have to go "in nature."  It's tough worrying about finding a secluded enough spot, so I was glad I didn't have to do that!

The turn-around point was at roughly 8.5 miles, another fun place, with lots of awesome volunteers.  I had a bad patch at 10 miles, when I switched from my audio book (The Great Hunt - book 2 in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series) to music.  I had planned to do the last 3 hours of the race with music - when it got too hard to focus on the story, and all I wanted was Lady Gaga yelling at me.  But, the one thing I forgot to do was to check that my play list was actually ready to go.  So, turns out it wasn't, and I had to "find" it.  That took a little longer than I had hoped - and at a little slower walking pace.  I had been walking roughly 45-60 seconds every 2 miles, but that walk ended up being about 2 minutes, maybe a little more, while I cussed at my phone.  But it was worth it!  I had loaded the player up with some up-lifting tunes, and it all started with  Katy Perry telling me what a Firework I was!  Cheesy pop music, but I love it!

coming up on 13.1 still feeling great!
I saw my awesome husband at 13.1 miles, and he loaded me up with more Girls Scout Thin Mints (special shout-out to Sarah Little for hooking a sister up!), a banana, and we replaced 2 of my empty cytomax bottles with full, and gave me some ibuprofen, to ward off any aches and pains.  Arjay got on his bike to head up to meet me at the next stop - just a few miles ahead, where the greenway crossed the road home.  A nice guy that I had been running pretty close to for a good while said "you sure do have a good support team," and I assured him I knew it full well, and that I was a lucky, lucky gal!  I think that everyone in the race benefited from Arjay being out there.  He probably cheered every one of the thousand + people on at one point or another!

I ran the next few miles, just enjoying the day, and listening to the music, and feeling exceedingly grateful that my body was partnering with me, rather than breaking down.  I ran into Arjay again at mile 16/23 (i think?  I know it was mile 23 on the way back...not sure what it was on the way out.)  BUT - here is the important thing: It was the BEER stop!  Wonderful, wonderful people giving out tiny cups of PBR.  While not beer in the REAL sense...it was definitely a fun thing!  I told them I would be in need of that libation on the way back, but thought better of it when I still had some hard miles ahead, that had been AWFUL in the training runs.

I passed mile 18 without incident, and really began to KNOW that I was absolutely going to get this done, and even quicker than I'd planned!  20 ticked by, and I was in unknown territory, since my longest training run was 20 miles.  I hurt - but not nearly as bad as I had prepared to hurt.

Getting my tiny PBR from kilted volunteer!
Finally - I got to mile 23, and that sweet, tiny cup of PBR - just enough to take your mind off running, by the sheer surprise of it.  Also - getting that celebration started early!  Arjay was there to meet me - and asked if I wanted him to meet me at mile 24, or go on to the finish.  My Mom and Dad, and my brother Tim, and sister-in-law Heather, and nephews Brennan and Cameron were planning to meet me at the finish, so I told him I wanted him to go find them, and that I would be just fine for the last 3 miles.

They were a HARD 3 miles, but so good too.  I turned off the greenway, onto the main road, and boy!  Almost there!  I picked the pace up a bit - excitement, I guess, as well as just wanting it to be over.  Only 2 turns left to the finish road!  I saw a Mom and her two kids running out the finish with her...so sweet!

So elated!
The Go-Go's brought me through mile 24, and Madonna joined me in mile 25, but the very best thing...better than I could have hoped for - was that the song that started playing as I turned on to the finish road was "Home" by Phillip Phillips - who I just learned was an American Idol winner.  ha!  I just knew I loved that song.  Particularly this line  "Don't pay no mind to the demons, they fill you with fear."  So true.   Here's the video, check it out if you haven't heard it.

I began this blog on August 17th, 2012 - 7 months ago.  In all my life, I never dreamed I would ever run a marathon.  I never thought I COULD do it.  3 months ago, I wasn't sure.  5 weeks ago, I was terrified.  A week ago, I thought I would be too sick.  But yesterday I did it.  I wonder what other things I can do, if I just stop being afraid, if I just stop listening to the proverbial "demons."


would you get a load of that!
I am so proud.  And so grateful to all of my friends and family who told me in all your own ways "Know you're not alone."  Thank you for your prayers, for your advice, for your encouragement, and for making this process happen, and mostly, thank you for helping me to discover a new part of me.

Now - Sunday, November 3rd, 2013 - City of Oaks Marathon.  Who's with me???

P.S. - wanna see my splits?  click HERE.  yeah, they're negative splits.  =)  Also, this is "race time" my actual time is 4 minutes less, onaccounta being so far back in the starting line.


Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Blog Evolution

This is not really about training - but, considering the marathon will be over in a month, I figured I'll need something else to talk about on this blog...so, we'll start with this.  

I gave up processed foods for Lent - (well, not ENTIRELY, I still allow whole wheat flour and cocoa powder - I mean the goal of Lent is not to ACTUALLY die.).


The point here, is that almost a week in, I feel pretty darned good.  Granted, this is one of those Lenten "give-ups" that I'd just as soon "give-up" for good.  So, maybe we can call it a test run.


Things I've noticed:



  1. Shopping takes longer when you read the labels
  2. Applesauce made with just 1 ingredient (apples) costs more than applesauce made with apples + 4 ingredients (corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, water, ascorbic acid)
  3.  I get really mad when I go into the grocery stores that make it easier to buy the "healthy" food (not naming names, here), because I see how expensive things are, and realize there are a lot of people for whom it's just not feasible.  
So, aside from the internal dialog I have about the need for better access to healthier food choices for lower income people, this new lifestyle seems to be going pretty well - and even that is not so bad, I mean - we SHOULD be thinking about that kind of thing. 

I even found a couple of good recipes to help with my sweet tooth!  This is from the blog "My Wholefood Life"

Peanut Butter Cup Granola

3 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup peanut butter (for a peanut free option, click here.)
1/4 cup applesauce
3 T coco powder
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla
2 T non dairy milk
Preheat oven to 330. Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mix the wet into a small bowl. You may have to microwave the peanut butter to soften it enough to stir. Add the wet to dry. Spread mixture onto a lined baking pan and bake for 15 minutes. Pull the pan out and move the granola around a bit. Place back in the oven and bake for another 10 minutes. Serve with milk or sprinkle over plain yogurt. If you are feeling extra feisty, you can sprinkle a few chocolate chips in.

The plan is to continue to regale you all with my running prowess, but also throw in some fun things about this food journey. I started off this whole food process weighing in at 142 lbs (last Monday) - yeah, I said it. Don't judge. This Monday, I was down to 140! I had been complaining that all that running wasn't shedding a single pound. Turns out, it probably was...it's just that the nabs for breakfast may have been finding the pounds as soon as I lost them.

Looking forward to sharing more successes!  This week is gonna be hard!  40 miles of running...and NO snickers bars!



Sunday, February 17, 2013

What am i doing? Nothing...just squeezing the goo outta my toe.

Wow-wee!  I meant to post last week, after the big 18-miler, but I was so darn tired, and disappointed - and busy! - that I didn't get around to it.

The run was terrible.  I hit the wall at about 14 miles, so the next 4 were spent in agony of mind, body, and spirit.  There was crying.  And I'm not a crier.  But,  I did the whole 18.  That was probably the first time that I thought: "Hey...I think I really might be able to do this!" Even as difficult as it was, at the end of it...I wasn't dead.  So, there's that!

I did have a pretty bad case of swollen toe - or what I've learned is sometimes called "runner's toe."  Essentially, a lot of fluid build up under the nail, causing some intense pain.  On Thursday - Valentine's Day, my dear, sweet Arjay did the most romantic thing anyone has ever done for me.  He healed me!  Seriously.  That's a heckuva Valentine's Day Present!  Here's what we did:

  1. Super heat a paperclip - I mean red hot.  This is no job for a candle - we used the burners on the gas stove.
  2. Place that glowing paperclip in the center of the pain on the toenail.  
  3. The paperclip will melt through the nail, without any pain - no nerves in the nail!  It may take 2 or 3 times, but once it pokes through - INSTANT relief. (Arjay says it's pretty clear when you've poked through, so no danger of burning the skin below.
  4. Squeeze the yuck out.  (it's not really that gross...mostly water with a little blood).
  5. Soak it 2-3 times a day in 1/2 water, 1/2 hydrogen peroxide.
I can't tell you how great it felt - after 5 straight days of agony, to not have it hurt!  I mean...there was a little pain, but nowhere near what I had been going through, so yay for that!

This week was a "step down" week.  I had two five mile runs, and a 9 mile run during the week, no other drama, except painful toes.  Saturday's run was AWESOME!!  12 miles in the snow!!  I was so cold when I got back, though.  I got into the door, and immediately began shedding the wet clothes - I have no idea how I didn't freeze to death!  But, wow!  It was so, so pretty!  Big, huge flakes - and that "quiet falling" that snow does...just amazing.  

So, this week - we are building up the the longest run before the marathon.  I have 5 miles Monday, 10 miles Wednesday, 5 miles Thursday - and then the big 2-0 on Saturday.  I think I'm ready for it!  Send me your prayers and vibes, I shall need them!


Saturday, January 26, 2013

Waxing Poetic about my Bad-a$$edness

I am terribly behind in posting.  So sorry - as I know that people all around the world are waiting in front of their computers for an alert that a new post has come.

 Part of this whole endurance training is preparing you to keep going when everything in you says to stop.  I think the reason "normal" people get into it - is not to WIN - but to REMEMBER.  There isn't much in our lives that takes us to the brink of what we can bear, and I think that there is something innate in humans that craves that sort of thing.  We live pretty cushy lives - at least here in the US.  We are far away from the "survival mode" of our ancestors - and there is something sad about that.  Living is hard, and I think that we forget that.  So, maybe we need things like this to remind us.  Granted, it is manufactured - but it's something.

We'll start with my 7 mile run on Wednesday the 16th.  It was ludicrously early in the morning, dark, cold, and rainy - AND my audio book putzed out about half way through the run.  Frustrating!  But, I got through it - that was key.

The 15-miler on Saturday was something.  I felt good almost the whole way.  Thanks to a lot of good tips and encouragement from friends, I felt really prepared.  For food, I went with a couple of Stinger Honey Waffles, and some Margarita flavored Shot Blocks I got really tired after 13 miles, but when I saw that 14 mile tick by on the Garmin - something kicked in.  Going further than I'd ever run before, it became exploration - of me - of my resolve.  It was getting to know a different Me- a Me that could run for 14 miles.  That probably sounds weird... and I'm not very good at explaining it - but it was doing something that even I didn't think I was capable of doing.  It sort of makes me rethink other things that I don't think I am capable of doing.

Last Wednesday, I had an 8 mile run - another character builder - 19 degrees!  The water in my water bottles froze!  So, I'm proud of myself for doing these uncomfortable things - because it's not in my nature.  I'm proud that maybe my nature is beginning to change.

Tomorrow, I'll do my 16 mile run, and then begin a step-down week, to 12 miles next weekend.  Then the week after that, that long run jumps up to 18 miles!  We are getting close!  Only 7 weeks from tomorrow!