I tell you what - I'm really enjoying this weather! Yesterday it was a little over 50 degrees, kinda sunny, kinda not. Just about perfect, as far as I'm concerned.
I ran for just 30 minutes, at a little over 12:00/ mile pace. That's right about where I'm supposed to be for hitting my marathon goal of 5 hours...maybe even meeting my stretch goal of 4:50:00.
Pretty exciting!
This "training slow" business is great - in the last 6 weeks, I've noticed how my per mile pace is decreasing while my heart rate is remaining constant. The body is a pretty cool machine, huh?
I'm a little worried as we head into the standard time model. In Daylight Savings Time, I'm able to run after work - but now it's going to be dark....So, that means morning runs. BOOO! It means I'll need extra doses of motivation. Unfortunately while my husband is a chipper little bird in the morning, my two dogs are snooze hounds, like me. AND they are snuggly. It's almost impossible to get out of the bed when Matilda is curled up on your tummy, and Fill is curled up on your feet. BUT! We shall find a way! We will power through! We will not be defeated! (i find i get more motivated if i use the Royal We when talking about myself.)
Those you early morning types - how do you do it? What advice do you have for me?
I'm NOT a morning type, but due to the family situation mornings are my best running time. My strategy is to keep running shoes by the bed. If I put them on I'm too lazy to take them off again and if I lie down The Bride will get mad at me for putting my running shoes on her clean sheets and so the path of least resistance is to just go run.
ReplyDeleteThat's actually not a bad idea! way better than having children! i may try that Monday morning. if my sheets end up with the gravel from today's run, i'll blame you.
ReplyDelete