Sunday, September 16, 2012

Readers Digest Condensed Version


When last I yammered on at you, I believe I was planning for a nice "recoup" run on Thursday. I wasn't able to take that run - I picked up my parents from the airport, they were coming back from their 50th Anniversary Trip to Sweden, and stayed the night with us (great fun, and more important than the run, so I'm totally fine with it.). I also didn't run on Friday - that was my "normal" day off, and I just went ahead and took it, rather than swiping it out for Thursday.

I think I must have really needed those two days off, because I had an absolutely awesome run on Saturday. I went for about an hour on Saturday morning, keeping my heart rate low, and running nice and slow. I was able to run the whole time, no walking - and really just felt so good the whole time! And by the end of it, I felt like I could go again! So, I think next Saturday I'm going to bump up to an hour and a half - I guess it's time. 

Today, we are having a wonderful Fall rain, so we may go biking, but may not - depends on how hard it's raining by 2. It's only about 64 degrees right now, so it will be a great day for a ride! I hope the rain slows, or goes away altogether! 

Here are yesterday's stats: not too shabby, if I do say so myself. The temp was about 68, sunny - really just a perfect day!

4.64 miles in 57:36.42. so, roughly 12:25.2 min/ mile. That's right in my pacing for my long slow run, which is supposed to be between 12:18 and 13:47, in order to meet my Marathon goal time of 4 hours and 50 minutes.

So, all of that to say, I'm feeling good about my base building, and am ready to start really kicking in the endurance. I'm 26 weeks out from the marathon. whoo hoo!!  Also, for those keeping score - we are 1/2 way to St. Patrick's Day!  Yayyy!

-----------------------

I wrote all of that earlier today, but never got around to posting. so...Update! We went on our bike ride, it was a little rainy and Arjay got a flat tire, but the temperature was great! Fall is definitely in the air!! We realized that it's going to be pretty easy to go to the Farmer's Market from our house, as soon as one of the connectors on the greenway is finished - it will take a little longer than by car...but, that's ok, it will be a pretty ride! Even if we don't wait for the Greenway, we only have about 4 miles on a busy road to get to the Greenway section that can take us to the Farmer's Market.... So, yay for that!

Tomorrow morning, Matilda and I will be going for an easy 30 minutes.

No comments:

Post a Comment